Getting stuck into coding

07.03.2011

Aim of the day – To interact with video using HTML and other computer languages.

The whole point of trying to create manipulative/interactive content using HTML is to start to prototype what I did for PG02.

The aim here is to make something work to some extent, this is not a design exercise, so looks at this point don’t matter. The most important part is getting the content right.

I began by going to w3schools and getting a piece of code that allows me to embed a video.

<!DOCTYPE HTML>

<html>

<body>

<video src=”movie.ogg” controls=”controls”>

your browser does not support the video tag

</video>

</body>

</html>

(source: http://www.w3schools.com/html5/tryit.asp?filename=tryhtml5_video)

The beauty of this particular piece of code is that it gives controls to the video.

Definition and Usage

The <video> tag specifies video, such as a movie clip or other video streams.


Differences Between HTML 4.01 and HTML5

The <video> tag is new in HTML5.

(source: http://www.w3schools.com/html5/tag_video.asp)

HTML5 Video

There is a whole section on w3schools about how to use video with HTML5

http://www.w3schools.com/html5/html5_video.asp

So far all I can do is embed a video on  a page. The interactive part is proving a lot more trickier than I anticipated. I just need to find some exsisting code or expressions to play around with. So far this is not working.

I am pleased I have been able to embed a video and give it controls to manipulate is, but I really want to have two types of media that interact with one and other.

Still finding it tricky to find what I am looking for. Its mostly because I’m not sure what the right terminology is. I have however posted a question about what I am trying to do on the QBN Forum (which was part of my Research Strategy.) I was told to look for : html5 video cuepoints. I will again start researching this route.

Found this via google searching for html5 video cuepoints :

http://www.slideshare.net/jimjeffers/building-an-html5-video-player

http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/multipage/video.html

I found a video online of HTML5 of two videos that sync together. My theory here is by looking into the code that makes up the synching the code that I need to make two mediums interact will be very possible.

I’m starting to realise (again) that this will probably take a lot longer to learn than I thought. I think at this stage of learning the code it’s a matter of time before it begins to click, this is where the pace of learning will change. I really just need to be patient and enjoy what I am doing, this will it should come to me quickly.

Tomorrow night I have a workshop that will pool together the web technologies that I have been learning for the past few weeks. This will include HTML, JavaScript, PHP and MySql.

I plan on trying to use the workshops as a guide to where I am going with my final project, but really need to crack on in order to achieve my maximum potential.

As well as the workshop there are a couple of individuals who can help me along the way, and I should utilise these opportunities as soon as possible, in order to get the most out of the year.

The most useful piece of coding was this: http://html5demos.com/two-videos#view-source

 

This entry was posted in PG04 - Prototyping. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting stuck into coding

  1. Pingback: List of HTML Codes | Lilywhitewash's Blog

Leave a Reply

