Amazon Black Friday

Recently I had my debit card swallowed by an ATM, which meant that I could no longer purchase items from the internet. Today I got my card back. As Christmas is coming I thought I’d have a browse online to try and get my shopping done asap, as I hate queuing and large crowds of people! I went onto Amazon and found a ‘black Friday’ section.

Black Friday, is a really clever idea to get people to look around your website and buy your products, or in this case I can see it being a very impulsive shopping place. It resembles that of ebay with a timer and a product on the end of it.

The reason I find this fascinating is to the whole concept of attaching a timer to a product, giving the products original price away, implying it will be cheaper, and making a person wait for it. The psychology of this is so straight forward, yet so effective.

The most effective part being, it is coming up to Christmas, people want to shop cheaply, how convenient this is going on!  I keep comparing this to ebay, but ebay I noticed has a count down timer to Christmas. This is such a nice piece of design, due to the nature of pressure. Having that token constantly in the viewers sight plays on the subconscious.

Places like Amazon and Ebay don’t really need much market research doing anymore, its self automated. Each of the sites come up with items that might interest you. Due to the variety of them, they can pretty much cater for most peoples needs, as we all know! By having these small ‘games’ throughout play on its success and does keep the consumer browsing.

I did a little bit of research into what power lies behind amazon and ebay, I was not surprised to what I found out:

“Amazon, the world’s largest online-only retailer, grossed $19.1 billion in the fiscal year ending Dec. 31, 2008, which was $4.3 billion more than the previous year.

eBay grossed $8.5 billion in the fiscal year ending Dec. 31, 2008 and $7.6 billion for the year ending Dec. 31, 2007.” – SOURCE (practicalecommerce.com)

The online world of shopping makes it so easy to buy things, and as cash is not in the consumers vision, it changes the way in which we shop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

