White Cube – The Clock

(a video overview of Marclays piece ‘The Clock’)

I visited the film exhibition for a piece called ‘The Clock’ by Christian Marclay at the White Cube gallery in London.

The exhibition was one big film in the same set up as you’d find at any normal cinema, however this was a drop in cinema, meaning that most people would come and go throughout. The reason for this, it was a 24 hour long film.

I arrived at the exhibiton at 2.20pm and left at 4.00pm, I really wanted to stay to the end, however I really needed to go to the bathroom, the joys of the cinema.

I found the whole experience fantastic, I wasn’t really sure what to expect all I heard was it was about a clock throughout the day. When I got there I was confused as it was a film clip. I thought it was going to be a film of a clock rather than films that featured clocks.

I soon realised that the clocks featured in each clip were in real time, reflecting the time of the present, this excited me greatly. the blend of sound and music accompanying the films with the variety of genres and different eras was fascinating, it truly reflected the nature of time and how we as human beings are so dependant on the man made invention of following time.

It was odd seeing the same actor in different films age through the use of different film clips. Also this made it into a bit of a game trying to work out roughly what decade the films were from.

I started to make a list of which actors I recognised, there were many. Here is my list:

Steve McQueen, John Malcovich, Paul Giamatti, John Travolta, Hugh Grant, Bruce Willis, Robert DeNiro, Anthony Hopkins, Sean Connery, Wooly Harrelson, Jennifer Aniston, Nicholas Cage, Paul Newman, Roger Moore, Woody Allen, Jason Statham, Micheal Douglas, Robin Williams, Mark Wahlberg, Dakota Fanning, Steve Carell, Bill Nighy, Russel Crowe, Christian Bale, Will Smith, Jodie Foster, Alec Baldwin, Judie Garland, Tim Roth, Julie Andrews, Jack Nicholson, Tom Cruise, Tom Hanks and Jeff Bridges, just to name a few…

The way in which the films were spliced together did make you feel like you were watching a film in its own entirety, by using references from films to link each together such as noises of trains, telephones and umbrellas. It seemed to also show a great deal of tension, mostly when it was coming up to the hour.

I feel at the end I had an even more of an appreciation for film. It seemed like one of the ultimate escapist films, due to the nature of so many plots and imaginative roles unfolding in front, in real time. People coming and going throughout watching the film added a new dimension to watching a film, as it also was a reflection of time going by.

To conclude, I really loved this piece and I would love to see it again for the 24 hours!

This entry was posted in Events/Exhibitions/Places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

